2017-07-15 “Sunflower” Kubo Shiori blog #18 [ENG]

On my birthday, I woke up and went to wash my face, on the way I hit my right elbow on the wall. While on the way to do my laundry, I hit my right arm. While opening my closet for clothes I got my right finger caught. It was a wonderful birthday but… Mr. right arm… I’m sorry.

Hello, thank you for your continuous hard work. I’m Nogizaka 46’s 3rd generation member, 1st year high school student, 16-year-old Kubo Shiori. It’s a pleasure to meet you.

image

Well then, as I forewarned on the previous blog, today’s blog is going to be my longest blog yet. Please rest assured that I don’t think my blogs will be this long in the future, I’ll feel happy if you do read it. Thank you very much.

Yesterday, July 14th was the date of my 16th birthday. Thank you so much to everyone who wished me happy birthday in the comments of my blog and in my SHOWROOM!!! This is my first birthday since joining Nogizaka46.  I think last year during this time it was right in the middle of the audition period. I never thought I’d have a birthday where this many people would celebrate my birthday. Thank you so much for finding me.

Sometimes I wonder, if I was currently back in my hometown living the average life of a normal high school student, I wonder what I would be like now. I probably wouldn’t be getting up on my own, I probably wouldn’t know how to ride the train properly, I probably wouldn’t be going out to eat by myself, and I probably wouldn’t be cherishing all of the support from all the friends that I met along the way. When I think about these things, from the bottom of my heart, I’m so grateful that I wasn’t able to live that normal high school life and instead was able to live this wonderful life I have now.

The ones who made that possible is everyone. To someone who’s name wasn’t known and who wasn’t yet an official member of the group I still received an overwhelming amount of support. It’s thanks to that support that I am able to be here now.

By being here and being able to share my feelings everyone and to teach everyone about myself. By being here, I wonder what I can do for everyone.

As a part of my lovely Nogizaka46 may I follow my dreams with you? I won’t say ‘together’ because I’m going to show everyone the most amazing scenery. Therefore, please continue to watch over this Kubo Shiori.

I’m glad that I’m able to be here. I can’t see my mother, father or my big sister nor can I easily see the landscape of my hometown, but I’m glad that I can be here. I’ll say it again. I’m truly blessed that I’m able to be here and participate as a member of Nogizaka46.

That’s only because everyone was here, everyone, I want to repay this kindness.

Next, today there are a lot of thank yous I’d like to convey.

Thank you for reading my magazines.

Thank you for watching my tv programs.

Thank you for reading my blog.

Thank you for commenting on my blog.

Thank you for telling me how you feel.

Thank you for coming to the live concerts.

Thank you for following me.

Thank you for coming to the handshake events.

Thank you for supporting me.

Thank you for guiding me down this road.

The thank yous continued enough to make my eyes sting, but I hope that my feelings were conveyed to you, even just a little bit. After one year, after two years, after years… I’m going to work hard so that the number of times I need to say ‘thank you’ will increase.

Did you know that the 14th of July is actually know as ‘sunflower day’.

(TL Note: this day is known as sunflower day because it was the day of the first launch of the Himawari ‘sunflower’ on July 14th 1977. Himawari satellites are geostationary satellites operated by the Japan Meteorological Agency.)  

When they are facing the sun, they suddenly bloom, that is a sunflower. Isn’t it beautiful? In the language of flowers, the sunflower “will watch over you.” In order to watch over everybody like a sunflower I will become big and bright, refined, and an existence that stands up tall. From here on I’m going to face the sun and do my best to look forward. In order to one day make a large flower blossom.

Next, right now like this, being a part of Nogizaka46 I’ve been able to meet everyone. It may seem like something that you take for granted but it’s not. It’s all thanks for my mother giving birth to me. Like the way I am now, with regards to the probability of finding my way onto this path I am currently on, I wonder what the percentage was before I was born. It was definitely some sort of miracle I would assume.

Thank you, mother, for giving birth to me, please continue to look after me.

That’s right! On yesterday’s SHOWROOM stream I said “I’ll post a picture of my cooking!” and so here it is〜

image

It was requested by my mother! This here is Sake no Nanbanzuke!!!! (roasted salmon marinated in a spicy sauce.) The bell peppers were grown by my mother. I’m still not good at cooking. I wish my mother taught me more. When I return home to my family, I wonder what I’ll make.

So, Yesterday I was able to do a SHOWROOM stream. Thank you very much!!!! A little while ago I interrupted Yamashita’s stream, but this was my first time doing a solo stream since joining Nogizaka46. I was nervous (´・_・`)

It was so much fun!!! “I want to livestream again,” is what I thought. I’ll be so happy if you were to watch it. I wonder if I’ll be more relaxed next time (´・_・`) I never thought that the timing would work out so that I could stream on my birthday… I was so lucky. (´・_・`)

To tell you the truth, that day, I don’t know how to do my own make-up, and so Ayano chan taught me how to do it from step one. It was my first time doing my own make-up!! It took me two and a half hours! I did my best (´・_・`) Ayano chan, thank you so much!!!!!!

After that I made it in time for my livestream and when I told everyone “Look!! I did my own make-up” everyone was like,

“I thought you weren’t wearing any〜”

ಠ_ಠ

Well.

The other day… I ate lunch with Hiragana Keyakizaka46’s (currently Hinatazaka 46) Kageyama Yuka〜〜!!! We’re the same age!!! We both talked about our groups, had some serious talks…90% was serious. Being able to talk to Kageyama san I was so glad that we were similar in many ways〜〜(´・_・`) She even gave me a birthday present (´・_・`)

She also gave me roasted soybean flower candies! The reason, she said, was “because you mentioned on your blog that you like roasted soybean flower!” They were delicious, and more than anything I was happy that she read my blogs〜〜 Thank you so much!!!!

Next, on July 1st and 2nd we finally started the Nogizaka46 midsummer tour 2017 in Meiji Jingu stadium. For us 3rd generation members this was our first time participating in the summer tour. For this tour, on both days, the 3rd generation members were entrusted with the opening performance.

The first day. I wondered what the scenery is going to be like… while I had feelings of excitement, I was also full of anxiety. That anxiety that I had was, since the 3rd generation members were the opening performance, I wondered whether the fans would really accept us? Will they be hyped for us? These were some of the things that I was anxious about.

However, the moment that we stood on that stage and the view hit my eyes my thinking immediately changed. I was wrong, we needed to give them a performance that they would accept, and it would be good if we gave a performance that would get them fired up. We’ll do it.

It may have been overconfident to say this but, because we were allowed to stand on that stage I wanted to show everyone how majestic I was. Therefore, I stood on that stage with more pride than usual. I can think about that performance as “It was thanks to all the cheers from the crowd that made it fun.”

The second day. The objective was to do an even stronger performance than day 1. The previous day was fun, but I was aware of the fact that we couldn’t repeat the same level of performance twice. Therefore, since I wanted to get close to everyone in the crowd, I ran a lot!!!!

In the final part of the concert, it felt good to bathe in the breeze, while standing on that stage and being able to lookout upon the view was fantastic. I thought, “I want to be up here much more.” How fun can I make this limited time is what I always thought about. The time that I spend together with everyone is truly irreplaceable. Thus, during the other stops of the tour there are many more people that I’ll be able to meet, and I can’t help but feel excited!!!

These are my thoughts but, all things aside it’s a fixed temperature. Performing as a member of Nogizaka46, I think for this group I want to become stronger and be someone that can do anything. Whatever shape that person will be it’ll be created my way. Until the day when I’m told “everyone is tried of seeing it” I’m going to persevere in climbing the slope.

We ended the Jingu live concert charging full speed ahead. From here on, while enjoying it with every fiber of our being, we’re going to do out best! We’ll be in your care!

Next, checking the answers from the previous blog.

To tell you the truth, during the double encore during ‘House!’, me and Reika san screamed ‘suki yo’ together. I wonder if anyone noticed it? On top of that, Miria san and me blocking the way, after hugging Himeka san Kitano san barged. Just thinking about it reminds me of how much fun it was (´・_・`) thank you very much!

image

Here is Yamashita’s Mizuki san. Isn’t she cute〜honestly so cute. Respect. YamashiiKuboshii together we are KuboShita.

The other day I was able to go and watched the stage play that Matsumura san is acting in, “Fill-in 〜parent participates in their daughter’s band〜” Thank you very much!!! I was able to learn a lot. I laughed a lot at the funny parts, but I also cried. There were laughs and tears, it was amazing (´・_・`)

On top of that Matsumura san was super adorable (´・_・`) her bass playing was amazing!!! I’m so glad I got to hear it in person!! I can’t help but want to go see it again (´・_・`) I want to see it again (´・_・`) Thank you so much!!

I’m sorry but I’m going to return to the topic of my birthday. To tell you the truth, because I wanted to feel the moment that it became July 14th, I thought the previous day that I’ll do my best to wake up. As a result, without even realizing it I fell asleep… with a “Ah!” I woke up and when I looked at the clock it read ‘7:14’. 7 month, 14th day!! 7th hour 14th minute!! That day I felt confident that it would be a good day. 2 minutes later… please see the start of the blog.

18th single, from the 3rd generation members, it is Yoda chan and Momo chan first Senbatsu, it’s a double center. I want to give them both my congratulations but I’m going to tell everyone how I truly feel first.

Right after the double center was announced, if I had to say what I was feeling at that time it was that I wasn’t feeling anything. Joy, surprise, happiness, frustration, I did feel any of those I earnestly tried to find them. Even I myself wondered why they wouldn’t come out.

As time went on, I clearly understood what I was felling and while I thought about those various things that brings us to today. When I watch the two of them do the single activities I think “they’re amazing, they’re shinning.” The meet and greet, Principle, the live concert and everything else, because we 3rd generation members have always done everything together, it was a weird feeling. The second I realized that the members who used to stand beside us were the same ones we were now looking up at I couldn’t help but think “wow, amazing.”

However, we can’t just look up at them, we need to hurry up and follow in their footsteps. This is a strong feeling I have, that’s why I’m going to just look up at them. The two of them are definitely telling us other 3rd generation members through their activities that “we’re over here.” If the 12 of us continue to just hold hands, then we will just be passive members of Nogizaka46. I do not want to be someone who is only a part of Nogizaka46. Like the senior members, Momo chan, Yoda chan I want to be someone who’s actions help Nogziaka46 mature as a group.

Over and over on my blog I’ve said things like I want to be_____ or I want to do ____ but those are just my own ambitions. Through seeing Momo chan and Yoda chan, I’ve come to see that I should set my ambitions to help Nogizaka46 as well. The influence of those two is amazing, now thanks to them I have changed.

Yoda chan, Momo chan, thank you. I think that the more I watch their actions the strong those feelings will become.

To Yoda chan,

“Yoda chan doesn’t cry,” is what I say. You’re really doing your best aren’t you. Even though you say you’re bad at remembering choreography, you work hard enough for two people, seeing you working hard saying ‘remember, remember,” is super cool. But when Yoda chan hits her limit and tears start to come pouring out I don’t know what to do. I want to be beside her and support her but she says “even so I’m fine,” as I continue to learn by watching her. Watching Yoda, who has the strength that I do not, brings forth such feelings of admiration. From here on, to my admirable Yoda chan don’t work too hard.

Thank you as always.

Congratulations on becoming center.

To Momo chan,

When in formation we’re next to each other a lot, when you don’t know something sometimes you say “It’s too much…” but you still make sure to do your best till the very end. You’re amazing for completing it. Earnestly and steadily working hard is who Momo chan is. I honestly think that she is standing where she is supposed to be. Even when nobody is looking, I know that Momo chan is always doing her best.  I’m going to work hard to be someone like Momo chan who doesn’t get lazy when it comes to working hard.

Thank you as always.

Congratulation on becoming center.

image

Yamashita again. Thanks you as always Yamashitaa. Recently we’ve ben particularly talking a lot. We even streamed together on SHOWROOM san. Because there’s somethings that you take upon yourself, if I’m worthy enough, you can confide in me whenever you want.

Let me make some announcements.

·         On Sale

BUBKA san,

Yamashita and me did a dialogue together. It was a deep talk. I want a lot of people to read it. I think you’ll also be able to understand my relationship with Yamashita!!

Kadokawa Extra Issue san

Riria, Momo chan, Yoda and me got pictures together. We talked a lot, there are also deep conversations (´・_・`) please make sure to read it!

·         On Sale Soon

July 22nd Up To Boy san,

It’s my solo gravure. I’m really glad. I think I do like taking picture after all. I truly want a lot of people to see it. Once the magazine has gone on sale I’ll release some behind the scene pictures. Please check it out.

July 24th, Monthly Playboy san

Yoda chan, Momo chan, Yamashita and me got pictures together. I’ve already enjoyed this summer enough! Is the degree to which I felt this summer. On the day of the photoshoot, I felt too much summer, I got a little overzealous and had 4 ice creams and ate a lot of cake. I’ll reflect upon my mistakes.

August 3rd Weekly Young Champion san,

Momo chan, Yamashita and me got pictures together. This one has the feeling of youth. While the three of us were talking we got out pictures taken, I wonder if you’ll be able to see who we really are!!!

August 24th B.L.T. san,

I did the shoot today. It’s the third 3rd generation member publication. Guess who my partner isss! The correct answer is Den chan! It was a lot of fun, during the photoshoot I forget about a lot of things, it was truly enjoyable! Pleas make sure to check it out!!!

Next, July 30th is the 3rd generation member solo concert in Osaka. I’m very thankful. The venue holds a lot of people, I’m nervous but looking forward to it! We’ll be in your care Osaka.

After that on August 6th is TOKYO IDOL FESTIVAL 2017, the 3rd generation member’s participation has been decided. Thank you very much. Never in a million years. I’m so glad that we’ll be able to perform at a place where there are so many other idols. On top of that being able to participate as a member of Nogziaka46 and as a member of their 3rd generation. I won’t sully the name of Nogziaka46, I want to attend holding onto the awareness that I too am an idol.  

Because there will be a lot of other idols there, I think I’ll be able to learn a lot from them!!!! Please teach me.

And later, on top of all that is the Midsummer tour!!! Finally the Miyagi stage is approaching. It’s a special feeling being able to perform in your hometown. I’m looking forward to it!

Oh by the way, speaking of Miyagi… on December 23 at Dream Messe Miyagi, the tickets for the individual handshake event being held there has been announced! I’m very happy (´・_・`) My first Tohoku handshake!!! Even at the normal handshake events, a lot of people come from Tohoku. For those who up till now couldn’t come to the Tokyo handshake event you’ll be able to go to this one! There are probably a lot of people like this and it will be our first handshake together! I’m looking forward to it!!

Continuing!

On Type D of the 18th single “Nigemizu” will be the third 3rd generation song “Mirai no Kotae” and we just recorded it. Thank you so much. It’s a bright and positive song. “I wonder how many times I’ve listened to it” is about how many times I’ve listened to it. Wow, we were able to have three songs. Thank you so much. I’m fully of genuine feelings of joyousness. This song as well, has been carved as a treasured song in my chronological table of Nogizaka46 songs. I’ll be sure to cherish it. Thank you very much.

On the previous blog I received sooo many comments… Thank you so much. Everyone’s messages after the Senbatsu announcement, all the birthday wishes, and everything else I’ll carve them into my memory. I don’t have enough words to express my gratitude for how many people are watching me. Everyone, your words are my driving force. Thank you so much. I’ll continue to be in your care.

Tomorrow is the individual handshake in Kyoto for the 3rd album! I’m excited! I wonder what I’m going to wear!!! To everyone that’s coming, let’s have a good time! Exciting, heartpounding!

This time is going to be different than the previous ones, this time we’re starting at the 1st time slot! It’s early in the morning but, but because I’ll be looking forward to meeting everyone, I’ll be happy if you make sure to come see me! (´・_・`)

Well, like I forewarned on the previous blog this blog will be really, really, really long… I’m deeply sorry (´・_・`)

To all those who read to the end, Thank you very much.

Please rest assured that I don’t think I’ll ever write another blog this long again (´・_・`) but at any rate, there were a lot of things I had to convey to everyone. Thank you. I still have things I would like to tell you, but I think I’m going to stop here. It’s probably hard to read something so long every time… is what I think while accidently writing another long blog. I’m sorry. But if you continue to read this blog, I’ll be happy (´・_・`)

image

Bright open eyes 〜〜(´・_・`)

Even at 16 years old I’ll continue to race forward. I won’t stop. I’m only looking forward.

Please continue to look after Nogizaka46’s 3rd generation member Kubo Shiori.

I’ll write again soon

Kubo Shiori.

There is no terminus. I think it’s ok to arrive at your objective after many years but, I don’t think that’s the end goal. I think it’s ok to think that it’s right to feel accomplished after completing your objective after deciding by when you wanted to accomplish it by.

Consequently, it’s not so easy to say after working hard but not achieving your goal. If you’re a truly hardworking person, you should have achieved you’re objective looong before. I don’t want to live a life full of excuses. I don’t want to make excuses, that’s why I want to live honestly. I make a goal for myself every day. My goal for tomorrow is to tell my honest feeling to as many people as possible.

Everybody has difficult times. No matter how strong you are you still experience that bitterness, that is what is means to be human. The people that can hide that pain they will be called admirable. Being able to perceive what is around you is called being admirable. If you think about it, it’s true. If you don’t show it, then nobody will feel bad.

In your heart, can you smile? Really, right now, can you laugh from your heart. When I’m going through difficult time, I want to disclose those feelings. Please don’t hold those feelings in. I’m going to sooth everyone’s hearts. This is a message to all the members of the 3rd generation, so that means it’ll be our secret.

https://blog.nogizaka46.com/third/2017/07/039822.php

Leave a comment