2022-07-14“Today is my birthday and I turned 21″ Kubo Shiori blog [ENG]

I turned 21.

Everyone, thank you for continuing to support me.

Also thank you everyone for the birthday wishes, I’m so thankful to all of you.

Over the past year as a 20 year old I meet a lot of new people and I had many brand new experiences. Since becoming an adult I dove into places that I’ve never been before and did them alone. I was constantly nervous and anxious and I was annoyed at myself for not doing things well, the more and more I looked back the more then road ahead seemed to disappear.

At the same time I feel like I had times of patience and endurance. Times were I was frustrated that I couldn’t get back on my feet. What is right, is what I did a mistake, are questions I kept using to constantly doubt myself.

However, as a 20 year old, during those time I chose to ‘smile’. I tried joining in with the other members. On days off, I would go out to eat with them. Do what I like, listen to what I like, eat what I like and I felt like I could laugh and smile when I wanted to.

I have come to think that if you laugh and smile over time those emotions will continue to follow you. While living like this, before I knew it a year had passed. No matter what came at me I couldn’t lose, and I was able to continue to move forward.

To look back or think back, stopping, to crouch down with my head on my knees, I had times like that but I think that my legs didn’t want me to stop where I was, they wanted me to move forward.

That’s why I believe that this past year wasn’t for nothing. Since I worked so hard during that time, as a 21 year old I’m excited to give everyone this wonderful news.

Releasing on November 11th 2022, I’ll be staring in the movie ‘Sayonara Konbanwa’. This will be my first time playing the lead role in a movie, thank you so very much.

When I heard that I would be the main actress I was shocked, I couldn’t believe it. While always dreaming that one day I would be given such a role I continued to move forward step by step but I still don’t believe that I have the required skills for this job. I am fully aware that it is because of the environment that I am in that I have blessed with making my dreams come true.

I love movies and I love the movie theatre.

In a place that I love so dearly this time there will probably be people that will be going there because of me. It’s a feeling that I haven’t yet come to understand myself.

The film was shot in Hiroshima’s Onomachi city. Breathing in the air of the city, and working hard to challenge myself at each shoot everyday is even still a treasured memory for me.

I can’t help myself from loving my character of Aisuke. As time went by this is how I felt about the character.

I hope that this warm world could touch the hearts of as many people as possible. Please, I’d be pleased if you were to check it out in theatres. Thank you very much.

This past year I thought about a great many things.

Things like, going down the murky and endless road of trying to answer the question of who I am. What do I want to be as an idol. No matter how lost I get and no matter how far down the path I go I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel.

21 years-old.

The time restricted to an ‘idol’ during that time there is no other choice but to work as hard as you can. Singing, Dancing, acting, expressions, talking, character and personality, not just one but all of them. A little while ago, I was still a novice believing that idols are nothing but charming but I think that’s wrong. I have come to learn that depending on how hard you work no matter how much or how little, you will grow as a person.

That’s why, I want to expand my horizons even further. I’ve been called a jack of all trades, but isn’t that a good thing. Right now, as an idol, I need to put my all into doing everything.

When I finally graduate from being and idol, when I’m doing one thing I don’t want to have any regrets and so I want to live my life as an idol.

I’ve been called dazzling, but that’s because I love being an idol. I love Nogizaka46. And with those feelings that I have now I feel like I can do anything.

Without those feelings flooding out who I am I’m going to continue to live and of course enjoy it.

Please continue to watch over me. Thank you very much.

Birthday.

As always my parents and family contacted me. If I ever choose to go back home they have a place prepared for me. That’s why they told me to not worry and continue doing my best in Tokyo. As always, thank you very much.

We’ve gained a lot of new junior member, that’s why I’ve been thinking less recently about what I can do. If I can work to give them a little bit of strength, then that’s what I feel like I’m in in Nogizaka46 to do right now. It’s probably because I have senior members, the other 3rd generation members and the junior member all at once. I love them all. As always thank you very much.  

To my fans. As always, thank you very much. I know there have been many times that you have felt irritated, frustrated, annoyed and worried about. However, despite all that my heart and soul feels supported by all of you and I hope that we can all continue to be happy. Thank you very much. I know that for many of my fans you probably haven’t seen the scene that you’ve been looking for, and that means I need to work even harder. All that frustration and pain that we share you always continue on smiling and laughing don’t you, I’m doing the same! With a smile I hope that you were able to feel my feelings of gratitude, I’m going to my all into doing my best.

Once again, I’ve turned 21. I haven’t grown accustom to this age yet but I have the self-awareness to be more mature. I’m going to do my best to protect Nogizaka46 and so please continue to look after me.

I’ll write again.

Kubo Shiori

21.

This year, I want to do more stage plays. Every time I learn about a new world, I learn that I don’t know anything about reality. Despite that I need to face it so I can enjoy life. I’m twice as nervous and anxious than a normal person but that’s why I want to walk down this difficult road filled with trouble and hardships. I don’t want to give up.

https://www.nogizaka46.com/s/n46/diary/detail/100450?ima=5116

Leave a comment