2021-07-03 ”A meeting such as this must be some kind of fate.”Kubo Shiori blog [ENG]

Hello everyone

It’s Kubo Shiori

Is everyone safe after the heavy rain?

The news from various places pains my heart. I’m wishing for everyone’s safety and security.

To all the victims, along with my heartfelt sympathy to those affected I am also praying for your speedy recovery.

Theatre 「The night is short, walk on girl」

The Osaka final tour performance is over.

It came to end without any problems.

Thank you so very much.

image

It’s been about two months since we started practicing.

The time was short. Not “It doesn’t feel long…”.

It was short, every day passed in the blink of an eye.

Although it went by so fast everyday was rich and fun.

Going from seeing everyone’s faces every day to not seeing them even now I’m tormented by the crushing loneliness,

Alone,

Like a waking from bed with a childlike mind.

It would be great if the others felt the same way or that is how I kind of hope they would feel.

image

I feel as though I have known this story for years.

It is a piece that everyone knows.

I remember feeling uncertain of how appropriate I was for the part,

Day after day being deliberately enslaved to this story, reading the book, watching the movie being absorbed in looking for the “ra ta ta tum”

If you gaze upon the magical two page spread drawing you will be charmed by this picture book, to want to become a university student and seek out a maiden’s innocence of which you sincerely hold dear.

A maiden not only loved by her senpai but by many people.

While reading further into this novel, images continuously formulated in my head and kept pouring out.

Because I had completed the novel, I realized that the character I was portraying could not be done while thinking with me head. I recall holding onto this immeasurable anxiety due to that realization.  

Before beginning to practice, more than ever, I thought about how one begins to even confront a character like this.

Although I thought about it in my head, I think I may have felt that I had to do more than to just show off the character.

During that time, the answer that I decided on was to walk the same road that she did. A Maiden going steadily forward, while holding onto her curiosity. At the end of that road, a chance encounter. I am envious of that relationship. I as well, will cherish all the relationships and ties I have made through this theatre performance. Thus, with this relationship felt deep within my heart I feel as though I have become slightly more like the black-haired maiden.

Because of that, even though it took some time it was a place where I made relationships with a lot of really amazing people. I think that the one thing in my life I can boast about is how I’m blessed with all of these relationships. The person I am now is without a doubt thanks to all of the bonds and ties I have from the people I have met. Finally, all the relationships I have created here at this place is has been an extremely wonderful experience.

It was kindly due to everyone being there that the black-haired maiden was able to be there.

I hope that you don’t think this is an exaggeration, I’m sorry for this not being an exaggeration.

As someone that went many times to attend theatre performances produced by Europe kikaku (a Japanese theatre group), I am very happy that I was able to work together with them. I hope that we can work together again someday. I will dream of that day as I continue to grow.

image

Fall, a daruma princess.

This is also a very cute outfit; the worn-out tip of the sword tells a heroic story of a stubborn king.

The time spent was very much like a dream, if anything I must say that the black-haired maiden really likes alcohol… but since I am still 19 I do not know the taste of alcohol. I felt like an outcast not knowing and so other cast members instructed me through words about its taste. I am looking forward to becoming 20, only two weeks away. I’m excited to become an adult! My heart is beating with excitement.

image

The young boy character of the antique book store Fujitana Riko.

She sat beside me in training, she really took care of me.  She helped shape my part of the rice ball, worried about me, in other words she was kind big sister. (TL note: I have no idea what she means by rice ball, it might be an expression or a metaphor. It might mean something like she helped shape my character).

On top of Fujitana san I also had masters of the craft. In a certain scene involving the young boy of the antique bookstore I was watched over backstage by Ishida Gota and the loud clapping. He is someone I respect very much, I hope to meet him again 😊 .

And now I have a very wonderful announcement.

In December this year, it has been announced that the stage play of 「The night is short, walk on girl」will be available to purchase on blu-ray and DVD.

I am very delighted. An elephant‘s behind that makes you want to say “no way it’s the real thing!?” while a koi carp bounces on your head, the shooting gallery’s decoration red koi carp. You can see everything. (TL note: since I have not seen the play I have no idea what is going on here and tried to translate it the best of my understanding, it’s probably wrong though)

On top that you can see Kosaka’s electric guitar and Naoko san’s unparalleled ability to play the biwa (Japanese lute). You can also hear Nagabuchi from Kiyamachi’s song. All of this is the story of Autumn.  Winter, Spring, Fall and Summer, regardless of the season, it is a period where you feel the autumn temperature.  More than anything, I can see everyone again.

There were also many scenes shot for the making of the theatre performance. I hope that the behind the scenes will show the closeness of all the cast member. The behind the scenes will also have things like the backstage and all the countless props. Let’s meet again in December. I’ll be waiting.

For all those who cannot wait till December please check this out. https://youtu.be/QTSDiTHWJyM

On here we can meet whenever. This is the first time I attempted to do a rap poem. The entire poem is very precious. When I first heard the final song for winter it made my heart tremble. The lyrics by Ueda san and the music by Ito san enchanted me every day. I would be nice if I could sing it again one day.  

Once again, being able to perform a play under these circumstances, to be allowed to make my way to the theatre, to be able to perform on location and to also have it streamed online, I have such immense and immeasurable feelings of thanks and gratitude for everything that has happened. Thank you so very much. I am wishing everyone happiness and good health. Amen.

image

I’ll write again in the future,

Kubo Shiori.

The personal experience of the preciousness felt during that time, unseeable by the eyes, confirms the existence of the string of fate. Once bound the ties created are by no means an easy thing to cut. Unbound by distance and time as long as the thread isn’t neglected, I believe that we will meet again 😊

A meeting such as this must be some kind of fate.

https://blog.nogizaka46.com/shiori.kubo/2021/07/062462.php

TL Note: This was really difficult to translate, since Kubo uses a lot of weird and difficult expressions, extreme formality, idioms, grammar, vocabulary along with a context I don’t really understand. It felt like I was translating the middle of a piece of literature. I don’t think it’s fully translated correctly but I tried my best 😥  -Mikuma

Leave a comment